How much is an MP worth?

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The question above and some other challenging queries on democracy and whether a life in public service should be paid at all or voluntary were fired at me during a visit from pupils from King’s High in Warwick.

As part of their political studies course Emily, Nicola, Caitlin and Sophie, joined me with their teacher, Mrs Wellman, in my office to video my response to a series of searching questions.

They will now be entering this video into a competition being run by the Political Studies Association as part of the Student Short Video Competition 2013.

I’m delighted to have taken part in this, and to give my views to them on the challenging subject of what an MP is worth?

It was a very worthwhile session, and I must take time out to praise their teacher, what an inspiration she is. If all teachers were like this then I know we’d be living in a better world.

I can’t wait to see the results of the filming and I wish all the pupils the best in the competition.

Leave a Reply

